About Antarctica

About 165 million years ago, Antarctica was joined to Africa, Australia, India, New Zealand and South America forming the supercontinent, Gondwanaland. Forces within the Earth affecting the lithosphere caused the Gondwanaland to rift and drift apart. Thirty million years ago the continents, as we know them today, reached their approximate present positions. Antarctica is like a different planet on earth. She is owned by nobody. 

MAITRI, India's second permanent research base in Antarctica was built and finished in 1989, shortly before the first station Dakshin Gangotri was buried in ice and abandoned in 1990-91. Maitri is situated on the rocky mountainous region called Schirmacher Oasis. The station has modern facilities to carry out research in various disciplines, such as biology, earth sciences, glaciology, atmospheric sciences, meteorology, cold region engineering, communication, human physiology and medicine. It has a capacity to accommodate 25 people for winters. 

BHARATI, India's Third and newest permanent research base is situated on a rocky promontory fringing the Prydz Bay between Stornes and Broknes peninsula in the Larsemann Hills area. It is located approximately midway between the eastern extremity of the Amery Ice Shelf and the southern boundary of the Vestfold Hills.